You Can't Do That With People

One Crossdresser's Journey Through Life

The Yes/No Question

I’m Scottish. Born and bred. I haven’t really thought about the whole independence thing because I no longer live there. That is, until now.

I’ve watched this whole process from afar. I’ve seen the once-proud BBC turned into a Government propaganda engine that Stalin, Hitler or Mao would have been proud of. I’ve seen religious bigots marching against independence behind a banner emblazoned “No Popery”. I’ve seen the same tired old faces with their snouts in the Westminster trough have their arguments demolished systematically. I’ve seen a senior figure in the Labour Party in Scotland argue that a ‘No’ vote should be the vehicle for abolition of the Scottish Parliament (I’m talking about YOU, Michael Kelly).

But, on the positive side, I’ve seen people energised politically in a manner I’ve never seen before. On both sides. Debate has been robust, but mostly civil. I’ve become convinced that we’re more than capable of running all our own affairs.

Will things be better in an independent Scotland? I don’t know. I can’t see into the future. However, I don’t think we could do any worse than it is now.

Final thought” If we would be “Better Together”, why isn’t it “Better” now?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

